Automotive technical schools

Hiya, I’m a 55 year old male looking to make a career change and become an auto mechanic. There are schools in the NY area like Lincoln Tech that charge $30,000 a year tuition that seems very high. On the other hand Bronx Community College offer a certificate program that is very resonable. Is there any reason to spend the extra money for a private technical school, or is a community college good enough to get a start at a dealership?–Thanks!

I would strongly consider the community college. I’ve read a number of stories about commercial colleges that provide a poor education. I have no personal knowledge of Lincoln Tech. I took a welding course at a community college, and every class I walked through the automotive instruction area, where I was impressed with the equipment and what I saw of the instruction. Talk to BCC and see what their placement performance is. It would be my first choice.

After 30 years as a school counselor, I can tell you that you should AVOID the for-profit technical schools–particularly Lincoln Tech.

I heard all too many horror stories from former students about the poor facilities, lack of qualified instructors, and–in general–the absence of anything that would justify the inflated prices that Lincoln charges for their sub-standard instruction. If I had more time right now, I would elaborate, but please trust me about this issue.

That being said, you should go to a college-based program that has an affiliation with an auto manufacturer. I don’t know about BCC, but in NJ we have a few community colleges that are affiliated with one or more manufacturers, among them GM, Ford, and Toyota.

These programs are a combination of classroom/shop-based instruction (including vehicles and modern equipment donated by the manufacturer) and an apprentice-like program wherein the student works part-time at a dealership, for a salary.

Successful completion of the program esentially guarantees you a job at a dealership.