ATF: Is it time?

Hey guys,

My transaxle fluid was changed back in 2005 @ 141,000 miles; about 44,000 miles ago.

I just checked it (warm) and the level was just about exactly where it should be and the color was light red to pinkish with no burnt smell. Now I know it’s been awhile since the last change but it doesn’t seem to need one. Should I hold off until it starts to get dark red to brown or should I just go ahead & change it?

If yes:

1. Is it okay to wash and reuse the old filter? If this is okay, what type of solvent should I use?

2. My manual says to wash the pan and remove metal filings from the magnets. What type of solvent is best for this?

3. And I assume I’ll need a new gasket but if the old one is still in good shape can I just go ahead and reuse it?

4. My manual also says to install a new drain plug washer. (This sounds ridiculous to me but I’ve never done an ATF change before.)
    Can anyone explain why I would need a new washer? Is this standard procedure?

Thanks

I would not wait for darkened fluid, that is too late. 41K seems about right for some and a bit early for others. It can’t hurt to change early on a 141K vehicle.

1. I would not re-use the filter unless it is very, very easy to clean with no risk of leaving crud in the corners.
  2. Mineral spirits, brake cleaner, or a good soak and scrub in hot water with dish soap and a scrub brush. Dry quickly so it doesn’t rust. The metal fuzz you’ll have to clean off with your fingers and a rag. No solvent will break the magnetic bond.
  3. No, never re-use. The risk of leaks is large.
  4. Usually that is not a problem BUT if it leaks, you’ll have to drain it all back out to replace the leaky washer. That seems to be a bigger pain than the $1 the washer costs.

@mystic‌

What kind of vehicle?

Yes, replace the drain plug washer. Those copper/aluminum washers “take a set” when they’re compressed, and many not seal as well a second time. Why are you questioning the manual?