Are struts an essential repair?

Hi
I have a 2004 elantra and have recently been told that the struts need to be replaced as well as the brakes. While I see the importance of changing the brakes, are struts something I really need to replace or are they just mostly for driving comfort? I have a very limited budget so your honest answers are appreciated.

Also if anyone lives in Northern NJ and is willing to barter this brake and possibly strut job please contact me, I am a holistic male massage therapist and can also help with website creation and management.

Struts are for comfort but they are also for control and bad ones will wear out your tires. If they are bad then they need to be changed.

As missileman said - the danger is in the handling problems.

The thing about struts is that they are one of those classic things that most ay shop can find a reason to say need replacement if they are fishing for work. They can see a little dampness on the shaft, for example, and say they are “leaking.” Some unscrupulous shops have been known to put the dampness there. Some places will just tell you that struts/shocks should just be changed every XX number of miles regardless of anything else.

What kind of shop wants to replace your struts and why? Get a second opinion.

+1 to missileman’s comments.

Yes, those struts do have to do with ride comfort, but they are also the part of your car that has the most to do with keeping your tires in contact with the road at all times. Worn-out struts will allow the tires to bounce excessively on rough road surfaces and thus to have reduced traction.

The less traction your tires have, the more prone you will be to have an accident. So, while it is not as obvious a safety factor as are the brakes, having struts that are in good condition is also a safety factor.