Anyone remember their Cash for Clunkers experience in MA?

I’m an MIT student doing some research on the economic impact of the Cash For Clunkers Program (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_Allowance_Rebate_System).

Does anyone who did a Cash for Clunkers transaction remember if the dealership pushed new plates on you or if the standard thing to do was keep your old plates? I’m interested in Mass specifically but experiences from any state about the trade in experience would be interesting.

The reason I’m asking is because I have data of all Massachusetts vehicle registrations from 2008-2011 but it is anonymized so I can only identify people by a number corresponding to license plates. I want to track Cash for Clunkers (and other) trade-ins by observing a plate switching VINs but if a lot of people were getting new plates then this isn’t going to work very well.

Thanks in advance! I’m curious to hear what people remember from their dealership experiences in the summer of 2009, and especially about plates. I was driving a 1994 Volvo 940 turbo wagon at the time but I was too poor and loved it to much to jump on the program.

I don’t think you’ll find what you’re looking for here. The regulars here are too smart to give up a good running vehicle to be needlessly destroyed in exchange for car payments. Even with a government incentive, keeping what you have is usually the wiser economic decision. C4C was really only good for people who were already in the market for a car.

C4C was pretty much an unmitigated disaster. Taking all those old vehicles off the road drove up prices on the used car market. This means that people without much money now have to settle for an even crappier car than they would have had in the first place. Some of the prices I’m still seeing on the used market are just freaking insane.