Anti-freeze

I am a poor farmer and can not afford anti-freeze for this cold winter in the North East. To get around this poverty and to continue using my tractor to farm and plow snow off my lane, I put hot tap water in the tractor radiator just before I use it each day. At the end of each work day, I drain the engine through the radiator petcock. My tractor starts easily with this warm water in the engine block on frigid mornings. My wealthy neighbors who use anti-freeze say that I am crazy because they claim that adding very warm water to a cold engine will crack the engine block just as adding cold water to an overheated engine will crack an engine block. Yes, I know that I live in poverty, but am I hurting the engine too? The water that I use is not boiling, just hot out of the kitchen faucet. Advice please?

I think you are crazy, but not because of possible damage due to the water temperature, but rather because it is not anti-freeze it is coolant. Water does not make as good a coolant as real coolant. It also tends to help corrosion while coolant reduces it. It is also a lot more work than I would want to save a few $$.

Normally I would take the OP as a Troll, but most trolls don’t join in and offer good advice to others.

You can buy generic antifreeze for less than $8 a gallon. It will last you two years. It has corrosion inhibitors that will prevent rust in your cooling system. Your effort to save money by using water could backfire if it costs you in a new radiator and a new water pump. Also, antifreeze is a better coolant than water.

Corrosion will be a problem. In addition, you can’t effectively drain the block by draining the radiator.

If you can PM me and send me your address I’ll send you the money to get the antifreeze!