+ and - Mode on automatic transmission

Good Day Everyone

I’m a new driver and it’s my first time to drive a brand new car (automatic) … with lack of guidance and knowledge on the gear I had used + or - or 1 and 2 mode, I hit as much as 80kph on a highway on my first day… as to what I had observed: I can hear some noise on the engine once I step up the acceleration… and then on the 2nd day, a friend of mine told me that I should be on D ( driving mode ). After I tried that, the engine runs smoothly with no noise…my concern now is does this affect much on the engine or have any bad effect after what I have done running at 80kph at 1 and 2 mode? Your comment will help me a lot on this issue .

thank you very much

Well you didn’t do it any good but probably no real damage at what 50 miles per hour? There are two modes on the transmission, automatic and manual shift. In automatic you just put it in D for drive and let the transmission decide what gear to use. In the manual shift mode, you have to shift gears. Push the paddle or whatever plus to go up one gear and minus to go down one. You should not be going over 2500 to 3000 rpm before shifting to a higher gear. Low gear means the engine goes faster and the wheels slower for slow speed. High gear mean engine goes slower and wheels faster for higher speed. Spend a few hours reading the owners manual.

If you used only first and second gear at these speeds, then you were revving your engine quite a bit faster than usual. Normally this won’t hurt anything, but the break-in instructions for your car might tell you not to do this for a certain number of miles, in which case it’s best to follow those instructions.

As Bing says, please read your owner’s manual. You don’t want to guess at how to operate an item that costs so much.