All Season Tires - Seattle

I’m on the fence about which all season tires I should purchase.

I live in Seattle and drive into the mountains regularly in the winter, and east of the mountains in the summer. That means extremes of hot and cold.

In the city my greatest concern is for the layer of ice that the streets get in the winter, particularly after it’s snowed.

I’m considering an all season tire and want to know if there are good reasons not to purchase any of these three?

Tourevo All Seasons - Les Schwab wants to sell me this one

Hankook Optimo 727 - Someone said it’s noisy - but is it any noisier than the others?

Goodyear Assurance Triple Tread - got a somewhat lesser rating for driving on Ice than the Hankook 727

Am I going to wear the tires down when driving in hot weather?

Am I compromising gas mileage?

Should I just invest in winter tires?

We’ve had all-season tires on my wife’s cars for the past 30 years. Never had a problem in winter or summer. I have no experience with any of the tires you’ve chosen, but I suspect they’ll all be fine.

If you haven’t already, take a look at the ratings in Consumer Reports, Nov 09. We lived in Tacoma, and all seasons is all we needed there.

May have needed winter tires two days in about four years, when we got some unplanned snowfall (was not running all seasons at the time). The rest of the time all seasons worked, even when we went into the mountains in the winter.

go to tirerack.com and check out the tire ratings…great prices.