Air Apparent Car Repair

This is general car repair question. I do all car repairs by hand (and knuckles). I have been aware for the past couple of decades, that I have needed a good compressor and some air tools. in a recent question regarding a stuck spark plug, “air” apparently was the answer. I was thinking “Air Impact Wrench” and “The Same Mountain Bike” & “Caddyman” were two who suggested it. Those of you that use it know that it will sometimes rattle things loose that would otherwise be damaged or broken by the breaker bar, testosterone, Wheaties, profanity, routine.

I am not a professional mechanic and would not be using air tools every day and possibly not even every week. I would like to hold the price down, (I’m very thrifty) but still have something worthwhile.

Questions:

Without spending a fortune (as in biggest bang for the buck), what compressor and what tools should I buy, for starters?

Are the “no oil, direct drive compressors” any good or do I want one with a belt and oil?

What minimum “specs” do you recommend for pressure and volume?

What are “must have” tools?

Sears puts Craftsman (sometimes with free tools) on sale, frequently. These are probably made by a leading manufacturer. Is this a way to go?

Any advice on what to use them on or what not to use them on?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give. Please, if I have missed asking any questions that should be asked, throw those in to.

Any personal anecdotes using your “air” may be enlightening.

Thanks, again!

P.S. Any spouses out there looking for that perfect gift for the mechanic in the house? Look here!

It takes a pretty good compressor to run an impact wrench. If that is mostly what you want to do, there are electric impact wrenches.