Aftermarket Car Warranty - Worth It?

I’m thinking of buying a 2003 Nissan Pathfinder with 65K miles and a seperate car warranty from AAA (which offers a warranty through Route 66). The will sell a 5 year 100K mile warranty for around $2300. Has anyone had negative or positive experiences with aftermarket car warranties? And is there away to investigate companies and complaints?

A recent Car & Driver article highlighted the problems with many of these. It didn’t mention AAA. At best, you get about half value, the markups are huge. At worst, they’re worthless.

Those things are the pyramid scheme of the new baloneyum. I think it is usually better to buy $2,300 in instant winner tickets. You might make $400 that way. Money is a lot safer in the bank. Many people have had negative and positive experience. Consumer Reports is still publishing their own evaluations of the worth of warranties. And, I don’t know. Got that covered.

As a mechanic I liked it when the customer had them because you could upsell the heck out of things and the customers were happy you found everything on one trip so they only paid one deductible.

Speaking strictly as a mechanic those warrantys kept the shop busy,some paid better than factory warranty time.

Sure it would have been better to have all the work at customer pay rate but something is better than standing around.

Generally, auto extended warranties are not a good investment, but I would tend to trust AAA before I would trust other firms in that business.

A friend bought an extended warranty on a high-end Jeep and got his money back many times over. For a Pathfinder with 65k miles, however, I would rate it a poor investment.

Put the $2,300 in the bank and don’t touch it. If you need it for a major repair (NOT maintenance) it will be there. If you never need it the money will still be in your bank.

If you give the money to AAA or Route 66 it will be in their bank. Where would you rather have your money?