Advice on buying a car for Rochester winters

Hello, I am a college student in Rochester, NY and I am looking to buy a car. Originally, I was looking at sudans and I had really liked the Toyota Corolla. However, it is 2-wheel FWD and I don’t think it will last well in the snow we get up here. Instead, I started to look at some Subarus since they are AWD and are reliable (or so I’ve been told).

Here’s basically what I’m looking for:

• Reliable
  • Not too expensive
  • Has a good amount of space to move my stuff to/from college
  • Probably not an SVU, I don’t really want something that big
  • Able to handle well in the snow
  • Comfortable to drive, it’s a 6 hour drive home

What cars would you suggest I take a look at?

Thanks, Joel

I have said this before only you can make a decision on what to buy.
But there are certain things that hold true: Pay for an inspection of whatever you choose-Used all wheel drive vehicles can be money pits if they haven’t been taken care of-any front wheel drive car will do just fine in winter weather with decent tires.

You logic is good, but the reality is that you’re going to have to select from what’s available that you can afford. I’ve been driving 2WD vehicles in winter weather (including the Rochester area) for 45++ years, and the most critical thing is that the vehicle is in good shape, properly winterized, AND, in that area you should have GOOD winter tires, (“good” meaning no less that 2/3 of the tread). That area gets nasty lake-effect snows.