Acceleration

I have a 2013 VW Jetta TDI sportwagon with a manual 2-clutch DSG gearbox.
Recently you recommended that when accelerating you should go gently with medium power. Used to be good advice with old V-8s and an automatic slushbox. Not true now with close-ratio computerized fuel systems. I am a professional race car driver/builder and have done a great deal of fuel consumption testing. The best fuel mileage is obtained by rapidly accelerating through the gears up to the highest ratio available. In urban areas probably a double overdrive. If you have a reliable computer you can test yourself. Example : 0-60 in 8 seconds at 10mpg versus a soft-pedal 0-60 in 30 seconds at 15mpg.
Then you coast at 60mpg to zero. I average 48mpg in town and 53mpg on the highway. Turbo-diesels coast using nearly no fuel.

Dick Starita

Accelerating mass requires a considerable amount of energy…The amount of energy to reach a given speed is the same whether you do it fast or slow…The problem arises when hard acceleration forces the engine into a very inefficient mode…Thye fuel energy (heat) gets blown out the exhaust and dumped into the radiator…But like you said, turbo-diesels and multi-speed transmissions can eliminate most of these loses. Hybrid cars do even better, using energy recovered from braking to aid in acceleration…I’m waiting for a turbo-diesel hybrid! With these technologies, driving habits become less and less important as computers enforce fuel efficiency…

Heavy throttle pressure but early shift points that take the engine to almost lugging seems to get the best. Full throttle with shifts at redline are not going to get the best fuel economy. A 0-60 run in 8 seconds will never average 10 mpg, more likely 2 mpg.

Huh, that’s the way my dad used to drive our 61 Chevy. Sometimes he’d even just go from first to third and be done with it. It was a six wagon.