99 Cavalier engine "Stumbles" at 55mph

I have a 1999 Chevy Cavalier 180,000 miles of mixed city/highway driving. I am a pretty laidback driver, so those haven’t been very hard driving miles and the car has been wonderfully reliable.

Recently, it began seriously stuttering, it feels more like it’s suddenly stumbling when it’s at highway speeds 55-60mph.

Facts:

-This only occurs at 50+ mph and will stop if I drop below 45mph or so.

-This only occurs after the car has been going for 5-10minutes on the highway. Even if the car is fairly warm, it doesn’t immediately start stumbling when I get on the highway.

-This occurs at cruising load on the engine, not just pushing hard on the accelerator (that suddenly makes it way worse)

-No starting problems

-No problems accelerating at lower speeds, including up an onramp

-I’ve replaced the spark plugs and wires

Note: When I changed the plugs they were fouled with what looks kind of like wet oil. But the car has no smoke out the exhaust and doesn’t seem to require much oil replacement, so I don’t think I’m losing/burning oil.

-I’ve run some gas additive that removes water through it to no avail

-I filled it with Ultra94 (I thought regular was expensive) gasoline, no change

-When I listen/feel the exhaust from the tailpipe it’s “puttering” at an even but rapid pace. I never noticed this before, so it may be normal. The engine doesn’t sound like it’s gotten louder.

I’ve brought up these symptoms to car people and I’ve mostly gotten puzzlement and different hypothesis. The fact that it starts and runs fine is confounding. The fact that even if the car is already warm or hot it still takes a few minutes of highway speed for this to occur.

What I have not done, but when I mentioned it to my auto advisers didn’t produce much faith in them as a solution:

-Not changed the fuel filter

-Not changed the oxygen sensors

-Not changed the air filter, but I’m about to do so.

-Not changed any part of the distributor