98 Chevy Sub 5.7

I’m a shade tree mechanic with no real training except baptism by fire and a mechanically inclined ability. I’ve got a problem that has me stumped…

It started with an error code for a misfire on #4. Replaced all plugs and wires, code cleared and vehicle ran fine for a few days.

Then started getting cloud bursts of white exhaust that smelled like fuel with the same error code. After some time on google, decided to replace o2 sensors, no change to symptoms.

Next I used a radiator pressure test and I could visibly see water leaking out the manifold. Replaced the lower gasket. Changed the oil and radiator fluid, saw no visible or odor signs of the two mixing. Borrowed a tester from a friend that uses a blue chemical that changes color if combustion gasses are detected in the radiator, none found.

Error cleared and symptoms were gone for 1 day.

Now, loss of acceleration power. Error code for misfire on #4. Clouds of white smoke from exhaust that smells like gas, not antifreeze. No overheating, oil is still good, no milkyness. Antifreeze levels unchanged with no visible signs or smells of oil and gas.

My next thought is spider valve, but I’m just not sure. Any help would be appreciated.

Sounds like you are getting too much fuel and your air/fuel ratio is out of whack. What color is the smoke? The gas smell indicates that you definitely have excess fuel; you injector (s) are leaking perhaps.

Why not take this vehicle to a competent mechanic who can diagnose your problem in less than1/2 hour?

Good luck!

This is my sister’s truck. She’s a single mother of three and simply can’t afford a mechanic. In already about 200 into this and refuse to go out like that…pride, I know, but it’s my nature.

The smoke is definitely white, no hint of blue.

Try swapping the #4 injector with one from another cylinder and see if the code moves with it.
You can try swapping the coil too, if the injector doesn’t change the code.