96 Corolla Overheating or Auto Transmission Fluid?!

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been driving a 96 Corolla into the ground for the past 5 or 6 years and recently it’s been having overheating issues. It has overheated to the point of steam twice now, and I’m worried at this point I’ve fried the engine or transmission.

I regularly check the radiator fluids and oil thinking that these would solve the issue, but alas it happened again today ten fold.

While driving home in hot southern california today I first noticed my transmission slipping in traffic. It was slipping when I started moving in stop and go, and settled in once I was going 30 or 40 miles per hour. I had my puppy in the car and was only a few minutes from home so I thought it would be fine, otherwise I would have pulled over immediately.
As I got closer the problem got worse to the point where I could no longer shift and move forward. I over revved the engine to get it into a safe spot and it overheated. After waiting 40 minutes I checked on the Transmission fluid (checked unrunning) and it was bone dry. The radiator was full with coolant and oil levels looked good. I put as much transmission fluid as I had in my trunk (not much) back into the car, started it and got the car up the few more blocks I had to go. On the way it was still slipping, at the severity it had to begin with.

My question to you is do you think the transmission is totally shot and I need an overhaul? Or is there some hope that it may have been overheating because it needs a flush/drain and new transmission fluid? The car is at 136k miles and has had a replaced radiator in the past year.

Thank you!

If the engine was severly overheated the transmission was severly overheated. So the engine/transmission are both fried.

Tester