'96 Camry 4-cyl intermittent starting problem, low idle, stalling, power flucuations

Bought '96 Camry LE 4-cyl 2.2L automatic, just under 65k mi a year ago (now 72k mi). No service records, seller not honest. Had far more problems & service to do than I & a mobile mechanic could discern when test driving before purchase (quick visual inspec too). (Timing belt & water pump, transmission svc, radiator, rear struts, front axles, motor mounts, front brake pads, sway bar link problem, tires, no A/C…as well as the parts below.) At first re-registration of car with DMV, their data showed that dealer never released car–hmmm. I shouldn’t have bought this car.

I’m not a mechanic, but I’ve had low idle-stalling, heavy vibration, power fluctuation and intermittent starting for at least 6 months. It’s been in the shop 3 times now for all of that (2 times car did not demonstrate problem, no charge & or service ticket written). Last recommendation was to replace Idle Control Sensor. This based on problem identified as ‘air’ (no codes came up in computer scans). Replaced: battery, distributor cap, rotor & o-ring, and spark plugs. Checked: fuel pressure, ignition & starter. Mechanic didn’t clean any solenoid contacts, throttle body parts, idle air control or other valves–all the things I see people discussing in the auto talk forums. Also, I don’t know if the anti-theft system is factory or after-market (wired directly into ignition wires) but the horn is disabled, the passive ignition lock function works.

My driving is all on the street (10-50 mi per day) stop & go with an occasional short stretch up to 50-60 mph, hilly, and in warm weather climate. I’ve just switched from leaving the car in OD to OD Off.

- Intermittent starting–first start of day or after driving and being parked for hour or so

- Get ignition, then idles low and almost (or does) stall out ; tapping gas stalls it

- Low idle (almost stalling) when stopped in traffic; tapping gas stalls it