4 cyl turbo motors?

Friend has 2020 Infiniti qx50 with the VC turbo 4cyl motor. Is getting rid of it and getting a 2024 Mercedes 350gle with the turbo 2.0 motor. Is what it is. Can’t get away from turbo stuff these days. Are the merc motors ok design wise? Does Mercedes know what they are doing?

I have no specific knowledge of new Mercedes. But since they’ve been legendary since like the 1880s I’d say there’s a good chance they don’t know what they’re doing. :wink:

2 Likes

I don’t think their engines are significantly better than all the other turbo 4s out there. Pretty much the standard IC engine except when a turbo 6 is used instead of a V8.

I prefer the nonturbo hybrid 4.

1 Like

I try and avoid turbo motors and Mercedes, as a general rule.

Having said that… I’m not sure that getting rid of a 2020 Infiniti for a 2024 Mercedes is the best long term decision. Obviously we don’t have all the details…but I’ll just say it’s not the choice I would make.

2 Likes

Given Daimler (Mercedes-Benz) has been building cars for 128 years, I think they know what they are doing. That said, turbocharged engines in cars have been around for 63 years and common for 35 years, I think they are a proven commodity.

I’ve owned 3 4 cylinder turbo cars. One for 83K before selling, another for 108K before selling and the current one at 45K from 3 different manufacturers. Yeah, they work just fine.

1 Like

I don’t think they have a non turbo hybrid model?
They had the lifetime warranty on infinity. Guess they sort of lost out on the lifetime part.
It’s not a money issue. His wife makes a ton and thinks a new car is no big deal.

They’re pretty consistently toward the bottom of various reliability and quality ratings, so I’d say no.

3 Likes

He was leaning towards v6 qx60 but decided on the qx50 instead. With the odd VC motor. Mercedes does have a gle450? In-line turbo 6.