2015 Nissan Sentra

Hello, Newbie here. After recent Nissan dealer full check and oil change, suddenly getting less mileage per gallon, lots less. No gas leak (odor or driveway evidence). Recent widow, husband was family car guru and mechanic. What should I look for? Any idea what the problem might be? Thank you all so much.

The first thing I would do is to check the tire pressure, as it may have been set much lower at the dealership than the inflation pressure that your husband used.

Also…
Has the weather recently turned colder in your area?
Have your driving patterns changed?
Is the Check Engine Light lit up?

Is the Check Engine Light on? An engine malfunction that lowers MPG would probably light it up or even make it flash (flash = stop engine now to avoid serious damage.)

Have you told the Nissan dealer you have noticed lower MPG? Winter, short trips, etc. mean lower MPG for everyone. A long highway run gives better MPG. MPG is more accurately measured when you buy a large amount of gas after many miles, rather than a small amount of gas after fewer miles. And multiple MPG calculations mean more than a single one.

Chances are there is nothing wrong and your lower MPG is an outlier. Good luck and please let us know what if anything is found.

VDCdriver, Thank you! 1. Tire pressure fine, I check monthly at Discount Auto, free service. GOOD ? because dealership was after last tire check, THX. 2. Yes, colder, though steady. 3. Driving pattern not changed (I’m age 72 yrs., grandchildren pick ups, grocers, errands, all within 15 miles, filled tank on the 6th, yesterday after grocers and Friday school pick ups, less than 1/4 tank, odd, odd). 3. No engine check lights showing. 4. Car parked on very slight slant, VERY slight (semi-rural area, cement driveway).