2014 Infiniti Q50 3.7L will not rev past 2500 RPM

Hello all,

This is my first time going on a forum to ask the internet for help. I’m hoping I could find some solutions to the problems I am having at the moment. I recently bought a 2014 Infiniti Q50 3.7L Premium at 68k miles. I’ve only had the car for a little over a month and in that time I’ve had various issues. My main issues were what I believe to be timing and exhaust. One day I turn on my car and I am heading to work and I notice my car will NOT pass 2500 RPM. No matter how slow or fast I accelerate, the car just stutters once I reach 2500 RPM. When I am in park, neutral, or driving it will not go past it. It seems to be in a limp mode because when I reset my ECU… The issue would go away for a day or until I turned my car on/off a few times. So I go online and look for answers, between oil changes, and cleaning the MAF… I’ve done both and no fix. I had my close friend who is a mechanic take a look and he ran the OBD2 reader and I had a code for ‘[P0011] B1 “A” Cam Position Timing System Performance.’ He said my car is having timing issues. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time nor money to have it fully checked so I drove the car for a week in this “LIMP mode.”

My muffler had recently also disconnected and I had to pay to have new pipes welded and have it reconnected. A week later, the Y-Pipe/Flex Pipe completely disconnected as well. Odd thing is, while the Y-Pipe was disconnected, the RPM issue went away. As soon as I had it repaired, the RPM issue came back. Makes me believe they are somewhat related? With the flex pipe disconnected, the car was extremely loud, vibrated a lot, and rattled as well. Once repaired, the car is a lot smoother and quieter, however my car still shakes a lot. It shakes most when I am stopped while in drive, like at a stop light for example.