2014 Chevy Cruze Engine light issue

Hello everyone,

I am a new member of this group, and I am a new driver; I got my license back in November, and was given my mothers car-a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze. I use it to drive to church, go to a bookstore I frequent often, and to College, but I have had an issue that has constantly been showing up since late January of this year.

It was back in late January, I was getting ready to go to school, It was snowing, and cold. I got in the car, turned the keys on, and all of sudden, the car begins to rumble and rattle. The engine light came on, and I was going to be late; I thought maybe it might just be from the cold weather, so I backed the car out. I was thinking about winging it all the way to school, but I decided to drive it around the block, and when I did, the car would not accelerate like it normally did. So, I drove it home, parked it, and had to take it to the local Chevy dealership where my mom bought it from. The mechanics looked at it, and said a rodent chewed on some wiring, and they would fix it. I got it back about a week later; it worked fine for the most part, but then the engine light comes on a second time. The rattling and rumbling went away, but the engine light continually kept coming on. This has happened now 6 times, and each time I go back, they fix it, only for it to come back. I went and I got stuff to keep rodents away from the car, and I don’t believe it is a rodent issue.