2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid - Question on slowing speed

I was a mechanical engineering freshman student in 75-76 when I designed an electric-gasoline car that charged the batteries using an alternator combined to the rear end/ differential. All my physics and engineering instructors said it defies the laws of physics and would not work. This, along with other unique ideas, led me to leave college.

Fast forward to 2012, and 3 engineering degrees later, I decided to purchase a Camry hybrid. This has been an excellent car where I have a unique question for you. Toyota has a transmission gear position called B which is for regenerative braking. Since I live in the San Francisco Bay area, with many interstates and highways for typical transportation, I’m constantly slowing my speed for these changes. When I decide to decrease my speed, I simply move the gear section to the B or regenerative braking position, to slow my speed down. This way I rarely use my brakes and use them minimally. I even use this method driving down streets and looking ahead for the stoplights.

Does this compromise the drivetrain or anything on my car using this methodology?

This sounds like a good way to experience ’ Road Rage ’ and you have 3 engineering degrees so what ever you think should be better than strangers on the web.