2008 Nissan Sentra Struts and 60K Maintenance

Hello all,

I have no experience with car maintenance, but I recently took my 2008 nissan sentra (72K miles) in and was told I need to:

• fix my two front struts that are leaking - $450 + tax
  • 60K Maintenance - $350 + tax

I’ve been told that I can do the 60K maintenance my self and save that money, but someone also told me that I could replace the front struts myself. I think I can find youtube videos easily enough for the 60k maintenance. Can anyone offer any advice on how to: find out what kind of struts I have? find out whats a reasonable replacement strut? Find a youtube video showing me the procedure? (Ive searched for the video, but cant find one for exactly my car, and dont know enough to know it if will apply to me) Also, what kind of tools will I need?

Thanks!

If you have NO EXPERIENCE with car maintenance you should certainly not try to do struts yourself. It takes good tools and can be very dangerous for a novice

I would first get a second opinion on whether you really need struts. Our Sentra was sold at age 19 with the original struts and 135000 miles on it.

Find a good shop an d let them do it. The dealer will be the most expensive by far. No need to go there.

The price quotes is not unreasonable provided you really need struts!

If you replace the entire strut/spring/mount as an assembly, like this;

Each are $110 from Rockauto, there is a left and a right. If you replace the strut only, you will need a spring compressor so you can take the top nut off the strut and not injure yourself.

Three bolts on top, two large bolts on the bottom and the entire assembly comes out. There may be a few other wires, hoses and the stabilizer bar link that need removing as well. You will have to find your own video.