2007 Civic v. Mazda3

I’m looking to buy a new car. I’ve narrowed it down to either the 2007 Civic EX or the 2007 Mazda3 i Touring. From everything I’ve read, both cars are very comparable to each other (which makes my decision so much harder). Does anyone have any tips about either car or if they love/hate their Civic or Mazda3? If it helps, I’m a grad student with 1.5 more years in Bloomington, IN. This car is more for the purpose of getting weekly groceries and errands, and the occassional weekend trip out of town. I plan on having the car for many many many years to come. In order of importance to me: safety, fuel efficiency, and reliability. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

I recently had the opportunity to drive the new Mazda 3 as a rental. Wow, was it fun to drive! This is, of course, compared to my 97 Civic, which by comparison seemed a little boring. It even made me consider switching to Mazda when I finally do replace my beloved civic.
My suggestion is to choose the one which is the most fun to drive. You won’t be sorry!

I have to go with sesames here. Test drive them both and go with the one that you enjoy driving the most. Why be stuck for “many, many, many” years with something you don’t enjoy?

I sort of question you need to buy a new car, but that’s not the question you asked, so we’ll let that go for now.

I have to go with both Ranck and Sesames here. You can read the reviews. Everyone who test drives the Mazda3 reports it is fun to drive. And the only real complaint I’ve ever heard about the Civic is that it’s boring.

I haven’t test drove any Mazdas, but I have test drove a new Civic. If the salesman hadn’t kept talking, I would have fallen asleep, literally. I wasn’t tired, but the drive almost put me to sleep.

Drove both they are decent cars, you choose.