2006 Ford Five Hundred intermittent misfires without CEL

Having intermittent misfires, but no check engine light. Mileage performance is down about 10% but everything else is fine. In fact, car passed annual emissions test. My mechanic said if it passed emissions test, an engine analysis wouldn’t explain the misfiring. (Had Throttle Body and spark plugs replaced about a year ago. Car has 106,000+ miles.)

Your mechanic is wrong, and it sounds like he’s jumping to conclusions

I’m a professional mechanic, who does smog inspections in California, arguably the most stringent state, as far as emissions testing is concerned

And I can tell you for a fact that a rather poorly running engine will often pass a tailpipe test with pretty good results

A professional level scan tool, with a competent guy to interpret the results, can provide much useful information

Is the compression good on all cylinders?

did you use the spark plugs called for in the owner’s manual, as opposed to whatever the guy at the auto parts store was trying to sell you . . . ?

By the way, misfires have to exceed a certain threshold before there is a code and a check engine light. Just because there is no code and/or check engine light . . . does not mean there’s no problem. It also doesn’t mean that hooking up a scanner is useless.

Is there a certain speed at which this misfire occurs?

Tester