2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac - Just got handed estimate invoice for 3k. Not sure what to do

Hi Car Talk, car noob here- need some advice.

I own a 2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac with 109,500 miles. I just got an oil change + inspection. I’ll admit I was a little (“a lot”) overdue on my maintenance, but the car has been running great so I was a bit surprised to be handed a laundry list of estimated work for a total of $3012.44.

I’ve uploaded the inspection + list of estimated work to imgur here: http://imgur.com/a/Lvb9Q

The yellow highlighted items are what they recommend should be done ASAP, but how much of this is legit? Can I get away with only doing a few of these? Pouring $3k into a car worth maybe $3.5k doesn’t sound like a great idea.

Advice?

Edit: Thanks in advance!

The new rack is the only hard part. Struts? Very rare for new struts to help ride quality at all. Most are changed for noise issues and almost never solve problem… All other work is changing fluids. 98% sure your car will ride exactly the same after work.

Suspension does squeak quite a bit going over bumps, and overall car has been riding pretty rough. Struts won’t help anything other than the squeaking?

That’s a pretty comprehensive list. Keep it for future reference. It’s always a good idea to keep all the routine maintenance up to date, according to the manuf’ers schedule. But if you need to prioritize, this is how I’d do it.

If it’s more than 3 years since the cooling system was serviced and the coolant replaced, time to do that. Likewise with the transmission (if automatic), but I wouldn’t do a transmission flush, do what’s called a “proper service”, usually that means dropping the pan and replacing the filter and often included re-torqueing the valve body bolts, the filling w/the correct fresh fluid.

Probably ok to defer the following unless there is a specific problem you are aware of with that function.