2003 Audi Allroad or new car?

My well-used 2001 Subaru Outback went into the shop today w/a burnt-out catalytic converter and I’m thinking its time to get something a bit bigger/better. My hubby has a leased 2003 Audi Allroad with 60k miles, and I’m wondering whether it would be better to buy out his lease or to spring for a new car. I’m looking at the 2008 Highlanders, Siennas and Subarus. Here’s what I need/want:

* 4WD or AWD for snowy mtn passes.

* room for 4+ including bike equipment, ski equipment, and all the various personal effects of a family not accustomed to traveling lightly.

* “Car-like” handling. I’m a good driver, but a lousy park-er. Neeed something w/a smaller turning radius, not a truck or giant SUV.

* Better than average fuel economy (at least 20 mpg+).

* Unparalleled safety features.

* Good power and acceleration and all that.

* Less than $35k

* Great quality and workmanship.

Any suggestions?

Replace the catalytic converter and keep the Subie.

I concur, fix the Subie given your needs.

First I see no specific reason not to keep what you have, but I suspect you want a change. 

If you really want a change, then start down that path of shopping.  Don't let a salesman get you to sign anything, put any money down or do anything other than a test drive.  Just keep telling them that if you really like the car you will consider them, but you will not be bullied into anything else and stick to it. 

There are a number of possible cars so test them all.

Note: I did see one bad five letter word in your original message.  Don't go the L-E-A-S-E thing.  It is just a way to complicate your live and get your money.  They tend to be really bad ideas for any situation except a business where the car is a business expense and then it is questionable.

If I were in your position I’d keep the 2001 Subaru a while longer.