2002 Camry 207 k miles, oil leaks around head gasket, how to fix or worth fixing it?

2002 Camry 207 k miles, oil leaks around head gasket, how to fix or worth fixing it?
Is it possible to fix it my self, I’m a beginner and I have replaced valve gasket.

I can smell burning oil after each drive and when i open the hood i could see the smoke, is it okay to continue to drive/commute to office 20 miles one way.

I can’t tell much from the pictures . Replacing a head gasket is not a simple job . Do a Google search for videos on doing that and that should help you decide if you can do it. A local independent shop can give a ball park price and for a diagnostic fee they can see if the head gasket is leaking and how much internal damage might have happened.

1 Like

Are you positive it’s the head gasket, and not the valve cover gasket? They leak much more often. How much oil do you have to add (miles/quart)?

3 Likes

I am inclined to believe the new valve cover gasket is leaking.

1 Like

Also, which engine? The V6 or the 4?

Clean the area with a degreaser and see where its leaking.Replacing a valve cover is an easy job provided you have the right gasket for your application.You have either a 4 or 6 cylinder engine.Good Luck!

Valve cover gasket i recently replaced and it not leaking however i’m not sure if its head gasket or any other it is leaking any other place.

Its V4 engine.

I would fix it as you have the only V4 Camry in the world.

2 Likes

I will try this… but i see he oil around the engine

video are there as guide… i still looking for a video with clear instruction on replacing and fixing it.

It’s a BIG job to replace a head gasket for a novice, and I’m still not sure that’s the problem. Do as advised above, clean the engine thoroughly and see where the oil comes from.

How much oil are you using?

I guess last time i used 4 quartz out of 6 pack i bought it from costco and the oil level in the engine between low and max dot.