2001 S-10 Pickup 4.3 AutoMatic Trans. 140,000 Miles. Problem: Intermittent No Crank No Start

This is my first time posting in several years. So, I’m not even sure I’m in the correct Form. But here goes. This problem has been going on for about 3 months. I drive the vehicle almost every day. I’m retired, so I have a lot of time to figure this thing out. Hopefully I can fix it myself. No pattern seems to exist. I have "kind of"eliminated some causes. They are: Neutral Switch, Starter, Starter Relay. Neutral Switch: It doesn’t seem to make any difference, if I move the shifter around while the key is in the crank position. When it cranks its always in park or neutral. Starter: I ran a jumper wire to the starter, it cranked over. . Starter Relay: I checked the Relay, it will click when the ignition switch is in the crank position. I talked myself into believing it was in the ignition I replaced the Switch Interruptor and it worked fine for a couple of days, about 10 or 15 cranks and starts with no problems. When the problem occurs, I might turn the ignition once, no start, second turn start, or it might not start in 15 attempts. 20 minutes later try again, starts on first turn. I’m limited in my knowledge of electrical systems. I know how to use a voltmeter, but that’s about it. I’m 74 years old, do most of my own car repairs, change oil, grease job, brake jobs, change out parts etc. But this problem has me stumped. Any comments and suggestions would be appreciated Thanks: airdropbill

There’s usually two electrical terminals on the starter motor. A big one, and a little one. Use your voltmeter to measure the voltage on both those terminals during attempted cranking. Measure between the terminal on the starter motor and the starter motor case. Let us know what they measure.