2000 Subaru Outback with 183K

Need Help!! I had to replace my radiator and gaskets as something blew back in November…this last weekend I drove in the mountains and noticed that radiator fluid started leaking and the guage started going up…the reservoir was full but then 60 miles later empty…checked oil and it was low and now something is leaking …what do you think it is?

hey, I’m no mechanic, but I’d guess cracked head(worst case)? maybe glogged radiator? where’s is the radiator fluid leaking from? -that might be the best (cheapest) place to start, you can get radiator stop-leak stuff at parts store for less than like $5.00. good luck

My guess is it is coolant but you have 3 choices to choose from. If you ran the engine while the coolant level was real low you may have damaged the engine.

Subaru’s are famous for head gasket problems.

I agree. Sure sounds like a blown head gasket.

Unfortunately, we don’t know exactly what “blew” back in November, but this incident appears to have involved your cooling system.

Now, there is another problem involving the cooling system.
Additionally, the engine is apparently consuming oil at a rapid pace.
None of this bodes well.

As was said, I suspect that a breached head gasket is the problem at this point, but the sequence of events is unclear. It is possible that the cooling system problem back in November caused the engine to run very hot, and that this caused cylinder head/head gasket problems. This would be especially true if the car was driven for any distance while the engine was running very hot.

Or, it is possible that there was already a head gasket problem back in November, and that the mechanic only dealt with some of the “fallout” of that problem, rather than replacing the head gaskets (there are two on this engine).