1999 Honda Civic with shot transmission?

I am a young driver and my aunt and uncle have a 99 Honda Civic EX that they are willing to give to me. It has 203,000 miles and an AUTOMATIC transmission. However my dad is a stickler and my uncle says the transmission is shot. Receiving the car for free, would it be worth my while to have it fixed?

NEW*
My uncle says that it runs and drives fine, it just seems to shift oddly or something like that.

The 99 Civic I think still has the transmission cable that goes from the throttle body to a bell crank on the side of the transmission. If this cable has any slack in it, the transmission can slip a little on each shift. The quality of the transmission fluid also affects shift quality.

Check the cable and adjust to just take up the slack, no more. Then change the transmission fluid using only Honda ATF.

Thanks keith. I spoke to my uncle and he said that “when it heats up it loses motivation. When i let it cool down it’ll go into drive again” he also mentioned that it was running fine one day and then it didn’t want to go.

Sorry but that sounds like a bigger problem than “shifts oddly”. You could try the cable and the fluid change, but I would hold out too much hope. You might also try flushing out the transmission cooling lines in the radiator, but do not flush the transmission itself.

Well, if it is free and the engine and the rest of the car is in decent shape, then I will take it and throw in a used or rebuilt transmission and drive on. If you get the cost ~ $1000, that is like 4 car payments max.

Thanks for inviting me to comment on the thread, although actually I am more here to get advice from others. I am not an expert in any sense but I’d be happy to try to give some advice :slight_smile: