1998 Subaru Head Gasket Issue

Dear Admired Car Talk Community–

I recently purchased a 1998 Subaru Legacy Outback and have just been told that it needs a new head gasket. I know that Subarus are infamous for head gasket issues, but it seems like it’s a pretty reliable car beyond that. I’m a first year law student (i.e., I’m broke and will be for the next three years) and need a car to pull me through the rest of school. If I replace the head gasket, do you think this car will make it to 200K?

That depends on why and where the gasket is leaking. If it’s leaking internally or blown because of overheating it’s anyone’s guess how long the car will make it. If the engine oil has been diluted with coolant the engine life can be seriously shortened.

If the leak is a coolant or oil weepage externally then you could have the head bolts retorqued. That’s a fairly simple procedure and it may, or may not, stop the weepage.

Also, when head gaskets on a Subaru are replaced one always replaces both of them; not just one. This also means inspecting and surfacing the heads if necessary along with replacing the valve seals. Oftentimes these procedures are neglected.

Just how bad is the head gasket leaking? What are the symptoms? Have you checked the oil and have you checked the coolant?

I know what boat you are in. I am in it with you. I am a 1st year medical student and I need my Camry to pull me through the next 4 years. Look on the bright side, you’ll definitely be gaining a lot of valuable experience in how to maintain and fix cars.

-Techniker

If you maintain the car properly, it should be able to make it to 200k with–of course–some repairs along the way. That is just something that you have to accept in a vehicle that is at least 12 years old.

In addition to ok4450’s good advice, I want to emphasize the issue of maintenance: