1998 Honda Accord with a rusted out engine cradle - do I have to get rid of it?

I took my car in to the shop to get an oil change and fix a scraping noise from a rear brake (just a bent backing plate), and when I went to pick it up the guy basically advised me to avoid putting any more money into the car as it has severe corrosion on the engine cradle. He went on to tell me to start looking for a new car. Fairly inevitable given its long life (nearly 170k miles) and exposure to harsh winters. Basically most of the front suspension is also in pretty bad condition.
Thing is, I’m a grad student who drives this thing about once a week for <5 miles on average, and I don’t really want to deal with the hassle of replacing my car at the moment. I’d like to get some more input into how long I can keep safely driving it under these conditions.

It’s IMPOSSIBLE to tell…especially without actually seeing the damage.

I surely wouldn’t take the chance.

Engine cradles are made from thick steel, so surface rust isn’t a problem.

But if you can poke holes in the cradle with a screwdriver, then the cradle is rusted out.

Tester

I went outside and had a poke around. There doesn’t seem to be much corrosion on it except on the rear passenger side of the frame, where there were some large surface flakes I could just peel off with my finger, certainly no holes or large cracks. I guess I’ll probably call the shop back tomorrow and ask them for more specifics like I should have today.

Apparently it’s a fairly common issue with vintage of Accord due to the placement of the air conditioner compressor.

If that’s all the rust you found, the cradle isn’t rusted out.

Tester

Why not find independent shop and get a second opinion.
They might have you stop at the end of the day and they’ll put it up on the rack and do a quick inspection.
This would not take much time and you would be right there. So if they find a problem, they could point it out.

Looks pretty beefy: