1998 Audi A4 O2 sensors

My 1998 Audi A4 has 125k miles. The check engine light recently came on, and the shop told me that 2 of the oxygen sensors are running slow. My car has a few problems already (ABS module broken, cruise control broken, radio antenna broken, needs two new tires, exhaust hanger broken, AC compressor is gone, and it will need a new clutch soon) and I am a poor student, so I don’t want to throw my money into a hole. My mechanic told me that I either need to make a commitment or divorce the car. I only need this car to last me another few months. What will happen if the O2 sensors continue to run slow? Is this dangerous? Will I have warning before the car suddenly won’t move anymore? Should I toss the car now, or will it last a little longer? Please help. Thanks!

Not sure what “run slow” means. How many more months is “another few?” What happens after you don’t need this car anymore?

You should replace the O2 sensors if that is causing the CEL to stay on. Otherwise you won’t know if something else happens and trips the warning light. But maybe at this point in time you don’t really care. Hopefully the clutch will last. If not, then I would say it would be time to part ways. I would also try to get some good used tires to replace the bad ones just for safety reasons.

I’ll be moving to NYC in August, so I won’t need a car there. At that point, I’ll either sell this car or donate it to a high school/trade school.

The mechanic turned off the check engine light and it hasn’t come back on since then (a few weeks ago). Hopefully the tires and clutch will last until August.

The mechanic said the catalytic converter will break if I don’t replace the sensors. Is this true? What will happen if the catalytic converter goes while I’m driving?