1997 Toyota Previa

Don’t know how old your post was but I have the sMe issue. Have spent heaps of time uder the car and may (May) have found the problem. I am not a mechanic and am after advice. At the distrubutor I removed both vacuum hoses attached a longer one to check the diaphram (if it has a diaphram) and air flowed freely back and forth between th two ports. Wirh engine running at idle, this action had absolutly no effect on the idle rpm. What is the go. The manual does not detail the function of monifold and ported vacuums operations in the distributor. Engine 2TZ-FE, no EGR, australia.

Hi @RobertLackner it seems your question is referring to someone’s problem that’s posted on another web site (most likely Car Complaints). Unfortunately, we can’t see that text. Could you describe your problem a bit more specifically so others might help?

1 Like

G’day Carolyn,

I went back to the original post (Toyota Tarago, there are only 2 post there) and put this reply in.

Quote;

“I have the same issue. Have spent a lot of time under the car and found the possible cause or contributing factor. Just after some guidance before focus in on the perceived problem. I am nota mechanic.

The distributor has manifold (source unknown) and ported vacuum ports. Both lines provide vacuum as expected. With engine running and both lines disconnected from the distributor I connect a spare hose to the ported inlet on the distributor and apply positive and negative pressure. To my surprise there is zero resistance. Air flows freely back and forth and there is no change in the engine rpm. I was expecting the typical zero flow when applying a vacuum.

Is the air supposed to flow between these ports or am I on the right track and will need to replace the distributor body?”

Unquote.

I am not well versed on how to use on line forums/sites.

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

Regards,

Robert.