1997 Toyota Camry Engine Malfunction Light

I have been maintaining and driving this car for the last 12 years. Back in February this year, the Engine Malfunction light started showing up for days and then would go away. This happened many times over. In February, the local Toyota Dealer said it needed an Air/Fuel Ration sensor and an Oxygen sensor (OPCode - 51); est. cost $796.00+. I interchanged the air/fuel ratio sensor (on the exhaust manifold near the radiator) with another from my 2004 Camry without any result. I am not sure exactly where the oxygen sensor is. I would like to try replacing that sensor too and see if that eliminates this problem. As far as the car’s performance is concerned, it has not deteriorated - it still gives me 28-30 mpg as before (it’s a 5-spd manual). Also cost of parts from an autopart store is only $280.00 and not $446.00! as Toyota told me. And the time to replace these parts should not take more than half an hour. So, I don’t know how a Toyota Dealer can justify charging $796+ for this repair. Anyhow, do you have any suggestion for me? I will really appreciate any helpful advice I can get from you.

Thank you.

Sam.

This car should have OBDII Diagnostic Trouble Codes which read like P0123. While the Check Engine Light is on or soon after, have the codes read by a compatible code reader. Post the codes back and we can go from there. Does this car have the 4 four cylinder engine or the V6? How many miles on the odo?

Many autopart stores will read those codes for free. Remember it is the code we needs (Like P1234) not someone’s interpretation of what that code means.

You are presenting codes in the wrong format and your car does not have a Engine Malfunction Light or a Air/Fuel Ration sensor. I submit you are over your head.