1997 Nissan Pathfinder - Removing cats

Original Post:Can bypassing the catalytic converter be done by a muffler shop? Do they remove the CC or does it stay in place? This is for a geographical area where it is not required.

Follow Up: So, the above query is based on recommendations by a mechanic who said it was fine to do? Your replies indicate it is illegal. Do you think the CAT CONV is bad and that causes the low gas mileage and speed of only 55 uphill? This car has become the money pit. The compression appears fine per mechanic. If I replace the Cat Conv. will that help? Someone said to go to a discount site to order. Other suggestions? I am NOT a mechanic and am reaching out for advice as I am unclear. Thank you for your informative and respectful replies in advance. Appreciate it.

And where is that ? Also direct your question to a muffler shop because the people here are mostly U.S. residents and that would be illegal .

4 Likes

If you are in the US it is illegal to remove the cat, period. doesn’t matter if your state has no inspections or not. It is federally illegal for muffler shop to bypass it.

If it no longer works, have an aftermarket replacement fitted. They are not that expensive and we all breathe the same air.

7 Likes

Removing or bypassing a cat is ILLEGAL in both Canada and the USA. Are you somewhere other than one of these two?

1 Like

i know LA has their own requirements that are more stringent than the rest of the us. i assume a city that is ringed by mountains or hills may trap the air and compound poor air conditions. i recall it being bad 50yrs ago but there had to have been much less cars than today. so now with pollution control the air is better? and there are many more cars?

I really do not understand the mentality of cat deletes. You don’t gain that much, if any, performance by doing it. There are lots and lots of places to get more HP from than increasing your vehicle’s pollution output.