1996 Subaru Impreza blown head gasket?

My friend bought a used Subaru Impreza for $5000 about a year ago, and has drove it with no problems since. Recently, when he was driving in town for about 5 minutes a high pitched squealing starting coming from the engine. After about a minute of squeling, a white smoke started coming from the hood. He tried to make it to the closest service station, but after about a minute of driving the engine slowly died. The car has been sitting outside for the last month, and I recently took a look at what the problem could be. The radiator had lost most of it’s coolant, and the oil was about twice as full as it should have been. This looks like a classic blown head gasket, but I am not very experienced with cars, so any confirmation would be helpful. Thanks,

Chris

If the oil looks like coffee with creme in it, then yes, BHG (Blown Head Gasket).

Maybe, but I’m going to say the intake manifold gasket blew.

You’ll soon find out as the intake manifold has to come off to get to the head gasket.

“The engine overheated and while still driving the vehicle the engine slowly died”.

Probably seized it up tight too.

The classic head gasket problem didn’t involve the coolant getting into the engine oil. If coolant fluid has gotten into the engine oil you may be better of replacing the engine with a used one if your friend wants to keep the car. From the statements of your post it sounds like the engine has been cooked due to lack of coolant. There are used Japanese engines available for a reasonable cost, perhaps around $1,100 dollars, plus installation.

The 2.2 liter SOHC engine most likely in this Impreza is not known for blowing the head gaskets. That’s more of a problem for the 2.5 DOHC engines. The high pitched squeal makes me thing a pulley froze up, possibly an idler pulley, and the smoke was from a belt burning as it rotated around the frozen pulley.