1995 suburban erratic idle

Hi everyone! I am a shadetree mechanic, and I am stumped. I have a 1995 Suburban, 2500, 2 wheel drive, with a 5.7 liter. I have a weird starting problem that I can not pin down.
If I walk out to my truck in the morning, and start it, 99.9% of the time it will start without a problem. At that point, I am batting 100%. So let’s say I drive to work, and turn off my truck. 20 minutes later I may have to go out and start it, and it will start easily, as always, as soon as I let go of the key and let it snap back to the run position, my truck will die. No funny sounds, just a dead truck. It will start back up easily, no problem. As soon as I let go of the key and let it snap back to the run position, it will die as before.
So normally I will push down the fuel, start, and when I let go of key, I will hold down the fuel a little for a few extra seconds, and then it will ‘stay running’; but it will do this surging thing until I put it in gear. It will idle up a little, and then drag down so low that I think it is about to die. Then it will idle up again. Once I put it in gear and push the fuel to go, the problem is non existent.
It doesn’t act up at stop lights or signs, only when I start it after having driven it shortly before hand.
Sometimes after having driven it, and then trying to start it, using my ‘technique’, as soon as I let off the fuel, it will idle up real high, like around 3 thousand or so, and then slowly back down to regular idle.
I have put new distributor, new coil, new sparkplugs, new injectors (throttle body), new fuel pump, new fuel filter. I can’t remember what all else I have done related to this problem.