1991 Montero transmission

My 1991 Mitsubishi Montero (over 300K miles) has developed this shifting into overdrive difficulty. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes of driving time before it will shift to overdrive. It operates normally after the shifting takes place. It occurs after the car is parked for hours and every morning. I have taken it to a transmission shop which said it was possibly an engine sensor problem but not a transmission problem. I took it to my mechanic who did change out my thermostat which was sticking but was told it was a transmission problem. I was told by another tranmission shop that it will not shift into overdrive until it is okay with the engine temperature. If I let the car sit there and idle before driving it does not subtract time from the necessary 15 minutes of driving time needed for it to shift into overdrive. Any ideas?

On newer cars it won’t shift to OD until you are at a certain temp. I doubt that is the case in a '91 but I am not very good at this. Sometimes changing a temp sensor will help. The mitsu trannies have a tendency to go bad from the OD and then 3-2 & 1. There is a sensor pack in the tranny that some people have been able to change without tranny disassemble and it worked.