1991 Mercury Topaz difficulty accelerating

My name is Joey, i Have just recently purchased a 91 mercury topaz 4x4. SHortly after purchasing it my wife and i noticed that it was having difficulty acceleration,(was needing to feather the throttle to eventually get the rpms up so we could go the speed limit. I changed out the fuel filter put fuel injector an carb cleaner in the tank. I check the transmission fluid its not burnt or anything neither is the oil. Im no mechanic but being inclined ive been going through my checklist(in my head) which sometimes ends quite bad but saw that the radiator cap was loose rusty the seals seemed really thin. I cant be spending tons of money at the moment and need a solution.if it could be as simple as the radiator cap or if i need to figure out my next play. Anything to push me in the right direction so i can get it fixed is much appreciated. Thank you

1 Like

You didn’t purchase this off Craigslist in Millmont PA for $2000 did you??

A radiator cap will have no relation to your lack of performance. The fact that it is carrying a 4 door 4WD car with 100 horsepower might be a contributing factor.

Fisrt off, are there any warning lights showing on the dash? Second, how do you “feather the throttle” on a fuel injected car? What happens when you mash the pedal to the floor?

Answer back but I’d say you have a lot of actual mechanic-ing to do to find the problems this car might have. Post back and we will try and help.