1979 chevy c-10 burning oil

Hello, I have a 1979 chevy c-10 with a 350. It is burning oil and I am not sure why. I had a my regulator mechinac took a lot at it and he could not figure out what is wrong with it. Some of the mechinacs I work with (I am not a mechanic) say its the valves causing the problem. The milage on it say about 85,000. But I am pretty sure it have rolled over and was not told when I bought it about 3 months ago and I have been using sae 30 heavy weight oil.

How many miles on the engine? Has the right oil been used, and has it been changed on schedule? Engines do burn oil as they age and wear - mostly when the piston rings don’t seal against the bores in the engine block as well as they used to.

One thing you can do that might make a difference: use Marvel Mystery Oil in the gasoline. It can free up stuck piston rings, so the rings do a better job of flexing against the cylinder bores and keeping oil from migrating up into the combustion chambers. I used it in my 1984 Chevy Cavalier when it started using more oil somewhere in the high 100,000 mile range, and the oil usage dropped.

1 Like

Check the oil level and top it off early one morning then drive for 15 minutes and when you stop immediately check the dipstick. If the dipstick indicates that the oil is more than a quart low it is likely that one or both the heads have sludge blocking the drain back holes which is allowing the oil to puddle up to the valve stems where it is drawn into the the cylinders.

One quick way to check the valve guides is to drive at highway speed and the let your foot off the gas pedal. Look in your rear view mirror and if you see smoke it’s the vacuum of the engine drawing oil though the worn valve guides! This is not an expensive repair. I had two small block GM engines that developed excessive valve guide wear at high mileage.

You could also be leaking a small amount of oil at highway speed which would not be noticed by checking your drive way or garage floor.