'02 VW Gti 1.8t - Overheating, High Intake Vacuum, Check Engine Light

Hi All,

First of all, I am a complete beginner, so I apologize in advance.

I have a 2002 VW Gti 1.8t (337 Edition). There are a bunch of issues with this car, but I am extremely broke (hence trying to fix it myself) and I am just trying to get the thing up and running.

Initial Problems:

• Coolant Leak (Fixed) - slow coolant leak, found crack, replaced piece no problems for past 2 months since fix.

• Check Engine Light - has been on, codes read P0420 (Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold) and p0411 (Secondary Air Injection System Incorrect Flow Detected)

• Have noticed some decreased power, idles high to start and then drops once warm.

I replaced the downstream O2 sensor, upstream too difficult to remove. The codes and drop in power makes me think this is a bad catalytic converter. However

New Problems:

• Overheats after maybe 5-10 minutes of driving.
  • When I open the coolant reservoir, I can hear the coolant start to bubble and the level rises as the cap is opened.

Ok, being a beginner, I figured this was bad catalytic converter -> can’t exhaust -> heat & pressure build up. So, I googled a bit and saw I could test it with a vacuum gauge.

I hooked the vacuum gauge up to the port just behind the throttle body before the intake manifold (see pictures here). I was fully expecting to see the level slowly drop indicating an exhaust restriction. However, even at idle the pressure is on the high end (though I do notice it’s not at zero even when not hooked up). Then when I bring the RPMs up to ~2000 the vacuum increases and stays constant at about 25 inHg.

So I am officially stumped. Could I be hooking up the vacuum gauge incorrectly? Any ideas would be appreciated.