First Car

My first car was a 1947 Pontiac Streamliner 6 that I bought when I graduated from college at age 20. I paid $75 dollars for the car. It got me to graduate school 350 miles from home,even though I added a quart of oil every 250 miles. The cluster gear in the transmission was worn, so it made a horrible noise in first gear, so I shifted to second as quickly as I could. I also had coolant getting into the oil. When I removed the cylinder head–no big deal on a flathead 6 – I found that the block was cracked around one of the valve seats. I put it back together, poured some K-W seal into the radiator and solved the problem. When I got to graduate school, the Pontiac became my second car. My first car was the railroad line. I could make the 350 mile trip by rail within 20 minutes of the time to drive the distance and I could study along the way. The old Pontiac was just used around town, but it got me and my worldly possessions to graduate school.

1985 Toyota Camry, purchased used in ‘91 when I was 19. Cost was $3000. Got it with 70K; drove it until 130K, when the transmission died the day after a fluid change (the “leave neglected ATs alone” wives’ tale was true in my case).

Was a decent car…a good car to learn car repair on, as the I4 had a CAVERNOUS engine bay. Alas, rebuilding the AT would have cost more than a rebuilt engine, so it had to go. (Oh, and it ate tie-rods for breakfast!)

I was 17 or 18 when I bought my first car a demo from the dealer. It was a 1965 Sunbeam Imp I paid $650 for with only a couple thousand miles on it. It was 875cc water cooled rear engine. Really strange car with large solid chunks of rubber for CV joints and 12 inch wheels.