Would diesel fuel ruin a gas engine?

I work as an auto adjuster for an insurance company. Recently, I went on two claims where thieves are now drilling a hole in truck fuel tanks and draining the fuel out of the tank. The last one they drained the fuel out of a diesel truck though. This truck looked like a gas engine. I’m hoping for some just Karma and would the diesel fuel ruin their gas engine?

The gas engine will not run long once the diesel fuel gets from the gas tank up to the motor. Once the motor dies, it won’t restart. To get it running again will involve draining all the diesel fuel from the tank, purging the fuel lines to get gas back up to the motor, and perhaps pulling and cleaning the fouled spark plugs.

As for permanent damage, I think the gas motor can be put back in service but it is a messy job. There can be damage to the fuel injectors and other parts of the fuel delivery system. So, it the motor won’t restart once you have good gas getting into the fuel lines and the fuel injectors then you need to figure out what part(s) of the fuel delivery system are compromised and replace them.

The diesel fuel won’t hurt the block, pistons, cylinder walls, valves, and bearings so the basic critical parts of the motor are still sound. Once you have the motor running again, it should get an oil change with a new filter before going back into service.