Science Fair Question

I am a teacher in Chicago, and one of my students wants to test if there is less car emissions when the car is in neutral vs. drive. We were curious if anyone knew of a way to test the car’s emissions without going to the emissions test center.

Sure, see if you can get your hands on a gas analyzer. Check with some of the technical colleges around your area and see if they have one they can loan out. If there is a Vo-Tech school, they should have one if they carry an automotive certification class.

I assume you mean while idling?

Busted Knuckles had a good idea. A community college automotive instructor might be happy to assist your student in testing this. Speak with the department chainman.

It may even be a great learning experience for the entire class.

Loves labor lost…In a modern car with a properly working emissions control system, you will detect no difference. The readings will be zero either way…A functioning catalytic converter makes it all go away…

This is not true at all. Modern emissions bring the numbers down, but there is no gas-burner available today with zero emissions unless the engine is off.

Have you ever seen the taipipe fiqures on a (the latest I have seen is probably year model 1999, I can only imagine how low they are on a 2009) The readings are so low the needles barely move and the difference between idle and neutral is going to be very hard to see. My college certainly would not make room for such a experiment,they have classes to run,and no gas analyzer,all theory.Turn students loose with a gas analyzer and that machine will be down probably 80% of the time,the maintiance costs are prohibitive.

Two possibilites,pick a non-cat 60’s gas guzzler or make this a book exercise that cant be verified with the equipment you have access to.