[Solved] Changing oil pan but cant get to last bolts?

do I have to remove this plate thing that’s in the way? the oil pan bolts are above it and there’s no room for my socket wrench. www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnAKKXnsjoA I’m only 17 so I’m new to cars. This is for an eclipse 3g 2002 2.4L Also there’s 2 rusty screws I can;t get to turn with a screwdriver how would I get these off?

I’m not able to click your link and watch the video, but some engines have to be pulled in order to replace the oil pan. Yours might be one of those.

That’s the access plate to the torque converter.

Remove that plate and you can get at the rest of the oil pan bolts.

Tester

Agreed with Tester. That plate should drop right off.

I’ve done several Mitsubishis and the pan bolts are a bit difficult to access in that area. I’ve used a long 1/4" extension and a 1/4" drive wobble socket to remove them.

That’s why mechanics need dozens of different types of wrenches and ratchets. The need for a slightly different tool never ends. Sometimes an open-end wrench can’t be beat, sometimes it even needs a bend in the handle. Ratcheting “box ends”, “line wrenches”, and “crow’s feet” are also great things to have in your toolbox. Visit the Harbor Tool website and you’ll see a whole lot of different variations.

Re: the rusty screws; try soaking them with a penetrating lubricant and be sure to use a good, proper fitting screwdriver head. As with the wrenches, there are a whole variety of types of screwdrivers available including screwdriver attachments for ratchets. An electric “impact wrench” with a screw attachment might even be useful for things like these stuck screws. The pulses often free stuck stuff. As you do more stuff, you’ll end up getting a compressor and air tools, but keep it simple at first.