Van cranks but won't start...what's worth checking before I get it towed?

I have a 1993 Chevy G20 van that was starting intermittently and now won’t start at all. It cranks but doesn’t start. On one of the occasions that I actually got it started I went to have the battery and alternator tested and was told that the alternator was good but the battery was low. I then bought a battery charger and attempted to charge it. It has not started since. It also will not jump. I have tried to listen for the fuel pump and I don’t hear anything…of course that could be because I don’t know what to listen for.

So my question is: what more should I check before I give up and get it towed? I just want to be sure that I’m not spending all that money for a tow when it was something easy like a relay or a battery issue. I have some mechanical knowledge but no where to apply it (i.e.: my vehicle is outdoors and I don’t have a lot of tools or a decent jack). Any suggestions are appreciated.

Does the starter motor turn the engine over when you turn the key (cranks)? Do the lights go on bright? If you have no lights, no starter motor operation, and the battery won’t take a charge from either the charger or a second battery, your battery is shot. Need a new battery.

If however the starter works, you’ve got another problem. I hope you didn’t cross the connections on the battery with the charger or jumpers and blow the computer out. If the battery is good, need to separate whether you have an ignition problem (no spark at plugs) or a fuel problem (no pressure at fuel rail, no pump running, etc.).