Self teaching auto mechanics

Hello everyone new here was wondering if I can get some advice and tips on self teaching myself how to work on cars nothing against schools just I’m already paying for welding school and would like to learn mechanics as well

@smc85
Do you wish to become a professional technician/mechanic or will you use your skills for Do-It-Yourself work?
CSA

Teaching yourself can be tough. Especially with modern electronics and ECU. There are videos available and much documentation. But it depends on what skill level you have now.

I’d start with a small project - like change brake pads or spark plugs. Then work my way up to more complicated tasks. But realize you’re going to make mistakes. Even the best professionals make mistakes.

Yeah I hear you there’s YouTube for that and tools is harbor freight tools good for now

I am not sure that self taught can even happen anymore. Cars have ABS , electronics that can be expensive to replace if damaged , and not in the least is how they manage to put so many parts in the allotted space. It might be best if you wait until you are settled in a job and find an old simple vehicle that if you mess it up you will not be out a lot of money.

Starting with Harbor freight tools will be fine, like wrenches and hammers.

I’d stay away from much of their diagnostics tools though. You will be throwing away good money on these as they are normally of poor quality and if they do work…it won’t be long.

But if you plan on making this a career, you will want the better quality tools.

Yosemite

I’m not a big fanof Harbor Freight. But they are cheap.

I’ve been happy with my HF stuff.

To get to the original question, the best answer is : read, read, read, read, read, hang out on forums (this one’s the best of all), and study physics. Understanding physics can teach you a great deal about how cars’ systems actually work, and that transfers to an understanding of cars.