Replace the body of a new car with the body of a classic car?

Do you guys think it would be possible to take the body off a junked classic car (specifically, a 1968 Chevy Impala) and put it on the body of a newer car of similar size? And how much would you guys guess it would cost?

I’m a college student right now, and though I love the look of classic cars (who doesn’t?) I can’t justify buying one because I wouldn’t have the time or money to maintain it in the long run, and I need something I can use more reliably. I’m hoping to have about $20,000 saved up for this project in the next few years, with an estimated $15,000 for the new car and $5,000 for the body work. All tips/advice are welcome

The first trick will be matching both the wheelbase (the distance from the center of the front wheels to the center of the rear wheels) and the track (distance between the left side wheels and the right side wheels). Truthfully, most modern cars have a much shorter wheelbase and a much narrower track than “boats” like a '68 Impala, and the differences make your concept…difficult…and maybe impossible.

And, then there is the problem of matching the grill opening of that Impala with the radiator of the newer car. If you don’t get it exactly right, air flow to the radiator will be a problem, and overheating will result.

Then, there is the issue of mounting the body to the frame. This will be especially problematic, since the mounts will undoubtedly be in somewhat different places on the older car and the newer one.

With the application of enough money, anything can be done, but I don’t think that your budget will be sufficient for this project. You actually might spend less money fixing up that '68 Chevy than trying to graft its body onto a newer chassis.