Oil Pressure light comes ON, only when idling

I drive a 1991 Toyota Corolla LX with 193K miles and NO I haven’t had any acceleration problems yet.

My problem is that after 15 mins or so of driving around, the Oil Pressure light comes on but only when idling. Such conditions include

- When waiting at a traffic light

- A little before coming to stop at a traffic light when I have released the gas pedal.

Is this serious enough for me to stop driving the car ? I took it to a repair shop and they said it will cost me $40 to do an oil pressure check, which I have postponed for the moment.

Help please ?

Oh. Also about the above problem. after the oil pressure light comes on, it goes away as soon as I accelerate just a little bit. This works even if I am on Neutral and stationary.

Did I mention I am a student, and $50 means I need to work around my budget !

With this many miles, I would get it tested. If you are very lucky, the problem is a bad sensor, but this is unlikely. Your symptoms suggest worn out main and rod bearings. This can sometimes be cured with a new set of standard bearings, but only if the wear is almost all on the bearings, and not on the crank journals. Otherwise you are looking a having tghe crank turned and new bearings at a minimum. Get the oil pressure test done, but expect them to have to pull the pan and test the bearings for excessive wear. You can keep driving it, but it wont get better by itself, it will only get worse.

First check your dipstick. Is there enough oil and how does it look? How does it feel? If the oil is diluted with gasoline don’t re-start it until the oil is changed.

Ignoramous posted an excellent description. I agree with his postulate.