Oil Leak Dye Detection Test: Is it worth the cost?

I took my '04 Ford Focus to a dealer today to get an oil change and a tire rotation. The technicians found an oil leak and offered to run the diagnostic test where they insert dye into the engine to see where the leak is coming from. The test costs about $120 and I’d like to know if this is worth the cost. I have a mechanic I trust around here who says that test is unnecessary b/c all you need to do is wash the engine and run it for a bit. If there’s a leak, you’ll see where it’s coming from. To say that I’m not a car expert is an understatement and I deferred to my regular mechanic. But, I would like to know anyway if there is or are any reasons for why that test would be worth such a cost.

In the interest of full disclosure, the car has about 69,000 miles on it.

Using the dye to locate an oil leak is a last resort. Your mechnic is right. You first wash the engine and then try to locate the oil leak. The only time the dye is used is if it’s very difficult to locate the leak. And it shouldn’t cost $120.00. More like $20.00. And that’s only because the dye isn’t cheap.

Tester

1 Like

Cool. Thanks Tester!

+1 to Tester’s comments.

Besides, a bit of oil weepage if the car is high mileage is normal and harmless, as long as the level is kep above FILL and you’re not getting spots on the garage floor. If you’re leaking an excessive amount, or your garage floor is getting spotted, post back.

Otherwise, ignore them. Yours would not be the first car brought in for an oil change wherein the dealer “finds” $3000 worth of work that “needs” to be done. 99% of the time the “oil leaking” problem is bogus, unless of course your level truely keeps dropping.

An oil leak severe enough to need repairing is usually severe enough to see dripping. If there is no puddle on the spot where the car is usually parked there probably isn’t a problem.

But a lot of people LIKE their garage floors!